Clinical Response and Prevention Strategies to Support Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Workers Who Have Experienced Intimate Partner Violence and Human Trafficking

Past Webinars Icon

Description: Intimate partner violence impacts all communities and segments of our society – but migrant and seasonal agricultural workers (MSAW) may encounter additional disparities and barriers to care that make prevention and supports more complex. Community health centers, in collaboration with community based domestic violence prevention programs can play an important role in addressing these barriers, promoting prevention, and providing a bridge to ongoing support as needed.

On this webinar, Migrant Clinicians Network in partnership with Futures Without Violence will describe clinical response strategies to support migrant and seasonal farmworkers who have experienced intimate partner violence and human trafficking. The presenters will discuss the health impacts of domestic violence and human trafficking and what providers can do to address the intersecting and systemic challenges many farmworkers face when accessing care. Faculty will explore strategies to develop meaningful and effective collaboration between community health centers and local domestic violence service providers to better address the needs of farmworker survivors. We will also explore the value of virtual care coordination for migrants, particularly in the era of COVID-19 restrictions. Faculty will present specific and practical tools that providers can implement to promote prevention as well improve their community health center response.

Date: Wednesday, January 27, 2021 @ 10:00 am (PST) / 12:00 pm (CST) / 1:00 pm (EST) / 2:00 PM (AST/Puerto Rico)

Learning Objectives:
At the conclusion of this presentation, participants will be able to…

  1. Describe strategies to improve delivery of and access to health care services for migrant and seasonal agricultural workers experiencing intimate partner violence and human trafficking.
  2. Raise awareness of health issues impacting migrant and seasonable agricultural workers experiencing intimate partner violence and human trafficking.
  3. Promote meaningful, effective collaboration between domestic violence service providers and community health centers as a critical strategy to support migrant and seasonal agricultural worker survivors.
  4. Participants will identify at least three practical tools that community health center staff can implement to address the needs of survivors and promote prevention of intimate partner violence and human trafficking in farmworker communities.

Focus Area: Farmworker Health

Type: Webinar

RELATED RESOURCES

Related Learning Opps

Coming soon!