H-2A Visa Program and Access to Health Care Services

This webinar will be presented in English with Spanish and ASL interpretation. / Este seminario web se presentará en inglés con interpretación en español.

Date: March 7, 2024
Time: 11am PT / 12pm MT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET
Duration: 60 minutes

Description: Join us for a webinar in partnership with The National Center for Farmworker Health to learn about the H-2 visa program, which allows immigrants to temporarily work and reside in the U.S. to fulfill labor needs in certain industries that experience labor shortages, such as agriculture. This webinar will provide participants with information about key trends in the program, and will prepare participants for outreach to H-2A farmworkers. The webinar will cover the basics of the H-2A visa program, the specific health and safety needs of H-2A workers, and how best to find and reach this unique worker population. Participants will hear from health and legal advocates who provide services directly to H-2A workers.

Learning Objectives:

As a result of this webinar participants will be able to:

  1. Describe the H-2A visa program and the demographics/trends in this farmworker population.
  2. Explain key vulnerabilities & health and safety needs of H-2A workers.
  3. Demonstrate how to conduct outreach to H-2A workers, including where to find them, and logistical, linguistic, and cultural considerations for outreaching to them.

Featured Speakers:

  • Solimar “Soli” Mercado-Spencer, Farmworker Rights Division Director, Georgia Legal Services Program.
     

Other speakers will be announced soon.

Questions? Please email Camila Sanchez Tejada csanchez@futureswithoutviolence.org

NATIONAL CENTER FOR FARMWORKER HEALTH

Type: Webinar