Health Center Protocols to Address IPV and HT: Developing, Adapting, and Formalizing A Universal Education Protocol in Partnership with Community-based Programs (A Learning Collaborative)

Past Learning Collaboratives Icon

Title: Health Center Protocols to Address IPV and HT: Developing, Adapting, and Formalizing A Universal Education Protocol in Partnership with Community-based Programs (A Learning Collaborative)

Description: Futures Without Violence (FUTURES) is funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA) Bureau of Primary Health Care, to work with health centers and systems to support those at risk of experiencing or surviving intimate partner violence (IPV) or human trafficking (HT) and to bolster prevention efforts. FUTURES will host a Learning Collaborative on “Health Center Protocols to Address IPV and HT: Developing, Adapting, and Formalizing A Universal Education Protocol in Partnership with Community-based Programs.”

Through four online sessions, this learning collaborative will enable community health centers (CHC) to develop, adapt, and formalize organizational protocols to support their staff to address IPV and HT, and to support patients. The sessions will include planning activities to discuss the importance of having an organizational protocol, and developing formalized partnerships with community based domestic violence programs.  Health center staff will learn key components of the protocol including offering universal education, empowerment and support (the CUES approach) and offering warm referrals to community-based domestic violence programs (DVPs) for safety planning and other well-being support. The learning collaborative will offer guidance on adapting the protocol and operationalizing its use within the health center. Guidance on how to create working partnerships between CHCs/DVPs and establish memoranda of understanding (MOUs), an introduction to other tools and approaches featured on www.IPVHealthPartners.org, and an opportunity for peer exchanges among participating CHCs.

How to apply: 

This learning collaborative is open to HRSA-funded community health centers and other Health Center Program Grantees.

Health centers should have two staff members participate in this Learning Collaborative—this can be a number of roles, including: administrators, providers, quality improvement managers, etc.

Application period has now closed. 

If you have any questions, please email: ipvhealthpartners@futureswithoutviolence.org.

Session Descriptions, Dates, and Times:

Learning Collaborative Cohort Meeting: Part 1 – “Developing Organizational Protocols in CHCs to Address IPV and HT”

Date and Time: Tuesday, June 1st @ 11AM PST/ 12PM MST/ 1PM CST/ 2PM EST (1 hour)

As a result of today’s session participants will:

  • List key tools and technical assistance from Futures Without Violence.
  • Name a cohort of other CHCs and DVPs working on IPV and HT clinical practice change.
  • Describe the importance of organizational protocols to address IPV and HT with participating CHCs.
  • Describe FUTURES’ “CUES” universal education framework and partnership model with community-based domestic violence programs as foundational elements of any CHC organizational protocol to address IPV and HT.
  • List the critical elements of a model protocol to address IPV and HT in CHCs

Learning Collaborative Cohort Meeting: Part 2 – “Adapting a Health Center Protocol to Address IPV and HT”

Date and time: Thursday, June 3rd @ 1PM PST/ 2PM MST/ 3PM CST/ 4PM EST (1 hour)

As a result of today’s session participants will:

  • Identify key elements of a model protocol and list implementation strategies.
  • Know how to formalize a community health center & domestic violence program partnership using an MOU tool.
  • Learn how to use the CUES tool within clinical practice to provide universal education to patients around IPV/HT.
  • Define critical documentation and UDS reporting elements of the protocol.

Learning Lab: “Implementing a Health Center Protocol to Address IPV and HT – Part 1”

Date and time: Wednesday, June 9th @ 12 PM PST/ 1PM MST/ 2PM CST/ 3PM EST (1 hour)

As a result of today’s session participants will:

  • Identify key elements of a model protocol and list implementation strategies.
  • Describe how to enhance local partnerships with DV programs, and civil legal aid organizations to create a bi-directional referral base.
  • List three national resources for CHCs to support patients affected by IPV and HT.

Learning Lab: “Implementing a Health Center Protocol to Address IPV and HT – Part 2”

Date and time: Friday, June 11th @ 11AM PST/ 12PM MST/ 1PM CST/ 2PM EST (1 hour)

As a result of today’s session participants will:

  • Know how to document and how to conduct UDS reporting for implementation of the protocol.
  • Identify the safety and privacy considerations when documenting and conducting UDS reporting for patients.
  • List key strategies to promote bidirectional warm referrals for health center staff and patients to corresponding community based DV advocacy programs.

Focus Area: IPV/Exploitation @ CHCs

Type: Learning Collaborative

RELATED RESOURCES

Related Learning Opps